martes, 26 de enero de 2010

Permanent Forum: call for candidates/Forum Permanent‏

Call for nominations for Members of the Permanent Forum 2011-2013
The current membership of the Permanent Forum is due to expire at the end of 2010. Nominations are now requested for the three-year period from January 2011 until December 2013. Current members who have served the maximum of two terms (6 years) as Permanent Forums members cannot be nominated for a further term.
It has been the understanding of the indigenous caucus that the eight (8) indigenous nominated members should be from the seven socio-cultural regions determined to give broad representation to the world’s indigenous peoples. The regions are: Africa; Asia; Central and South America and the Caribbean; the Arctic; Eastern Europe, Russian Federation, Central Asia and Transcaucasia; North America; and the Pacific.
It was also the understanding that the 8th member would be nominated from one of the three largest indigenous populated regions (Latin America, Asia and Africa) which would be rotated every three years. Latin America will have an extra member for the next term (2011 – 2013).
It is encouraged that consultations amongst indigenous organizations commence as soon as possible to ensure that the President of the Economic and Social Council has suitable candidates for consideration and appointment.

In considering possible candidates account shoud be taken of the principles of geographic distribution, and gender balance. Furthermore and in order for nominations to be complete, it is important to provide recent curriculum vitae of the nominees for consideration by the President of the Economic and Social Council. Information about the nominating organization(s) should also be submitted.
All correspondence should be sent to the Secretariat of the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA), Room DC2-1454, New York, NY 10017, United States of America OR email to:

The deadline for submission of nominations is 1 February 2010

Letter from the Director of the Division for Social Policy and Development to Indigenous Organizations, calling for nominations of Permanent Forum Members
[ES] [EN] [FR] [RU]

As of 18 January 2010, the Secretariat has received the following nominations.
From Member States
African States
Valentin Mavoungou CONGO BRAZZAVILLE
Asian States
Paimaneh Hasteh IRAN
Eastern European States
Latin American and Caribbean States
Mirian Masaquiza ECUADOR
Adolfo Chávez Bayuma BOLIVIA
Gabriel Muyuy Jacanamejoy COLOMBIA
Álvaro Esteban Pop GUATEMALA
Western European and other States
Bartolomé Clavero SPAIN
Eva Biaudet FINLAND

From Indigenous Organizations
Christopher Siara Laisser, nominated by: Integrated Program for Agro-Pastorlists Development
Margaret Lokawua, nominated by: Riamiriam Oroto – Nakapiripirit Civil Society Network
Gervais Nzoa, nominated by: Communaute Baka de Koum & 9 other organizations
Paul Kanyinke Sena, nominated by: Yiaky Peoples Association


Latin America and the Caribbean
Lazaro Pary Anagua, nominated by: Movimiento Indígena “Tupaj Amarau”
Fortunato Turpo Choquehuanca, nominated by: Coordinadora de Centrales Sindicales Andinas
North America

Russian Federation, Central Asia and Transcaucasia
Anna Naikanchina, nominated by: RAIPON
Imir Tokhtabiev, nominated by: International Fund for the Development of Indigenous and ethnic minorities

Fui Elisara , nominated by: Indigenous World Association, Dewan Adat Papua,
Bangsa Adat Alifuru, Ole Siosiomaga Sociaty Incorporated

Antti Korkeakivi
Chief, Indigenous Peoples and Minorities Section
Rule of Law, Equality and Non-Discrimination Branch
Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
48, Avenue Giuseppe-Motta, Office 2-07
CH-1211 Geneva 10
tel.: +41 22 928 9539
fax: +41 22 928 9066

No hay comentarios: